Erie County was officially created by an act of the Ohio Legislature in 1838. It was formed from parts of Sandusky and Huron counties, and it is named for the Erie, a tribe of Native Americans who lived along the south shore of Lake Erie until defeated and scattered by the Iroquois tribes in the 1600s. It is the second smallest of Ohio’s 88 counties in terms of geographic size, only 626 square miles, including Kelleys Island, but its story is a remarkable one.

Read all about the History of Erie County

Meet our trustees, read our bylaws and Our Mission Statement